Medium Format Forum

Register a free account now!

If you are registered, you get access to the members only section, can participate in the buy & sell second hand forum and last but not least you can reserve your preferred username before someone else takes it.

Focus - mirror problem

Pedro Cabral

I've sent my camera to CCD cleaning to Hasselblad Sweden. When I got it back I realized they did the CCD cleaning (€ 326) and also an AF calibration (€180) and an exposure button replacement (€50). In spite of sending the camera just for CCD cleaning I believed they did other repairs for best camera performance.
When I started shooting AF Focus failed and I had to send the camera back to Sweden.
I was informed the mirror failed. AF calibration consists of different procedures including mirror alignment and I supposed the new repair would be under the 6 month warranty, as the mirror failed immediately after the repair and an alignment was done by Hasselblad.
I was surprised when I got charged by the new repair and Hasselblad says "This is not something we could have foreseen, neither have caused at the first repair as no repair was made to the mirror at that time."
My question is if anyone had the same problem and if alignment may be a cause to the mirror falling down. Shouldn't Hasselblad repair it under warranty?

I have great sympathy for your situation, it is most unfortunate.

I must declare that I have close links with Hasselblad so you may feel that what I have to say is biased.