Medium Format Forum

Register a free account now!

If you are registered, you get access to the members only section, can participate in the buy & sell second hand forum and last but not least you can reserve your preferred username before someone else takes it.

Film to Digital Darkroom General Workflow

agripix

Hello All!

As this is a somewhat general question about "film to digital" darkrooms, I thought it may be worth its own thread.

I'm wondering if anyone has a similar setup, or similar experiences, especially about profiling of the scanner, the CRT/LCD, and the printer, and the printed results, in a film to digital 'lightroom'. Perhaps we can share some notes in this forum.

I am a digital darkroom novice, so in theory at least, I'm sure I'm making a lot of 'greenhorn' errors.

BACKGROUND: My 'lightroom' major players are:

Epson V750M Flatbed SCANNER with Silverfast, Apple 24" iMac Intel 2.33GHz Core 2 Duo COMPUTER OS X 10.4.8, 2GB SDRAM, and an Epson R2400 PRINTER. Also a 500GB HD external, etc.

I am really happy with my hardware.

The software is PS CS2, with Bridge, Aperture, or Lightzone available. As early as this is in my learning curve, I am not fully 'into' the Bridge, Aperture or Lightzone (although LZ is very intriguing...)

I still shoot film for my 'real' fine art work - either Fuji chromes or Ilford Delta 100 Pro. (I do use a Leica for RAW digital at times, but I am more interested in the entire workflow from pos/neg to print.) My scanned files are enormous, but I have the computer firepower to handle it.

FIRST QUESTION: Am I on the right track with Profiles.

I use the latest Epson profiles for the scanner. I profile/calibrate the LCD with my Macbeth Eye-One D2. And as I have only used various Epson papers so far, I use Epson downloaded .icc printer profiles.