Medium Format Forum

Register a free account now!

If you are registered, you get access to the members only section, can participate in the buy & sell second hand forum and last but not least you can reserve your preferred username before someone else takes it.

Greetings All

The Fontane

Hello everybody.

I'm a photographer, who is originally from Ireland, and now lives in South Africa. I began shooting on a digital SLR in or around 2005. I gradually moved over to 35mm film, shooting on a pair of Canon 1V's and occasionally on an Olympus OM1 or an old beat up Leica.

Over the last few years I've been shooting mostly MF on a Hblad 500 EL/M, and pretty much it's all I shoot on now. I'm interested in abandoned towns cities and buildings which catch my attention. Lately I've been working with models which is new territory for me, a learning curve, and an enjoyable one at that.

Hi - and welcome to the Forum! It's a great creative transition going from DSLRs to MF film and your choice of the 'Blad 500 EL/M allows a good variety of lenses to be chosen - and not for crazy prices. Working with models adds a fascinating new dimension to your photography - especially if shooting in abandoned buildings. One lesson I learned pretty quickly when starting to work with models was to use agency-registered ones initially. They are more costly but, unlike so many amateur ones, they will turn up on time, work to the brief and, being experienced, will often contribute to the creative process.